Stanford Electrical Engineering

You are here

News and Awards

April 2014

March 2014 Staff Gift Card Program Awardee Announced

One staff member received a $50 Visa card in recognition of her extraordinary efforts as part of the department’s 2014 Staff Gift Card Bonus Program. The EE department received some new nominations in March, and previous nominations were also considered.

June WangAdministrative Associate June Wang is this month’s Staff Gift Card Program awardee. Following are some comments from her nominators:

- “June is very organized and efficient and provides help to others when needed.”

- “She’s trustworthy, competent and thorough, so one asks for her assistance with the security of complete confidence.”

- “June is very professional.”

The School of Engineering once again gave the EE department several gift cards to distribute to staff members who are recognized for going above and beyond. More people will be recognized next month, and past nominations will still be eligible for future months. EE faculty, staff and students are welcome to nominate a deserving staff person by visiting

April 2014 Subhasish Mitra

2014 A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and of Computer Science Subhasish Mitra is the recipient of the A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award for 2014 for his 2002 paper entitled, “X-Compact: An Efficient Response Compaction Technique for Test Cost Reduction.” 

The Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation is jointly sponsored by the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (EDA) and the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Design Automation. It honors an outstanding technical contribution within the scope of electronic design automation, as evidenced by a paper published at least 10 years before the presentation of the award.

The award honors A. Richard Newton, a luminary in the design automation area in academia and industry, faculty contributor and adviser to many of the leaders in the field, company founder, and dean of engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, who died in 2007. Professor Newton embodied the idea of technical impact which this award seeks to recognize.

Read More »

April 2014

Annual Kailath Lecture features Donald Knuth

Donald KnuthOn Wednesday, May 7, 2014, Donald Knuth, Professor Emeritus of The Art of Computer Programming, Stanford University, will deliver this year’s Kailath Lecture titled, "Let's Not Dumb Down the History of Computer Science."

Knuth has been working since 1962 on "The Art of Computer Programming" - a book series that attempts to organize and explain many of the most important methods used inside computers while also tracing the interesting history of their development. Four volumes of that series have been published so far, and he also has more than two dozen other books in print. Moreover, Knuth is the author of a popular software system called TeX, used to facilitate and enhance the publication of books that are being written by others.

The Annual Kailath Lecture and Colloquium Series was endowed in 2005 by a group of Kailath's former students and associates to honor him on the occasion of his 70th birthday. Its aim is to foster greater awareness of the power of the mathematics-based disciplines of information theory, communications, computation, control and signal processing to address challenging problems in engineering and, increasingly, the physical, biological and social sciences.

For more information, please visit or contact Patricia Oshiro at

Read More »

March 2014

Two EE Managers Receive Annual SoE Awards

Department Manager Mary K. McMahon and Facilities and Health & Safety Manager Kenneth (Kenny) Green were recently recognized for their exceptional work at the 2014 School of Engineering (SoE) Service Award Reception, which honors staff members and their years of service to Stanford.

McMahon received the school’s Leadership Award, which recognizes mentoring and management contributions. She has been with the EE Department for 4 years, but has been a Stanford employee for 10 years. In her role, she oversees the staff members that manage various functional areas within the department, while also handling special projects and day-to-day problem solving. “The department manager keeps her eye on everything, steps in when needed, and knows when to get out of an extremely-skilled staff member’s way when he or she has it handled,” she said.

Green received the school’s Safety Award, which recognizes compliance and safety contributions. While he has been with the EE Department for nearly 7 years, he is coming up on his 23rd anniversary at Stanford. Green manages facilities and safety for four department buildings: David Packard, Paul Allen, Allen Annex, and the Magnetic Resonance System Research Laboratory (MRSRL).

“This is wonderful recognition of their outstanding service to our department,” says EE Chair Abbas El Gamal.

The reception also included recognition of SoE staff for their years of service in five-year increments. Congratulations to the seven EE staff members recognized in 2014:

30 Years: David Hinson, Ivan Linscott

25 Years: Keith Gaul, Darlene Hadding

5 Years: Andrea Kuduk, R. Eric Wheeler, Golan Yona