Energy

Arbabian, Boahen, Boneh, Boyd, Candes, Dally, Duchi, Dutton, El Gamal, Enge, Fan, Glynn, Goldsmith, Harris, Hesselink, Horowitz, Howe, Johari, Kovacs, Kozyrakis, Lall, Lee, Mitra, Montanari, Murmann, Olukotun, Pavone, Poon, Pop, Prabhakar, Rajagopal, Rivas Davila, Saraswat, Solgaard, Tse, Van Roy, Vuckovic, Wong, Ye

Multi-Disciplinary Research in Energy

Research in energy is motivated at the macro level by the rapid rise in worldwide demand for electricity and the threat of global climate change and on the micro level by the explosion in the number of mobile devices and sensors whose performance and lifetimes are limited by energy.

On the macro level, electronic loads, such as data centers, smart appliances, and electric vehicles, are poised to overtake traditional industrial loads in consumption share. Renewable energy will make up at least half of the generation mix and drive adoption of novel technologies such as storage, fuel cells, waste to power and distributed generation. Our research investigates techniques such as demand response and the use of energy storage to reduce peak demand and address variability of renewable energy.

On the micro level, we are exploring energy efficient devices, power electronics, system architectures, and network protocols, as well as ways to harvest energy from the environment for wearable devices and the Internet of things. More details on projects in energy are provides in the following research subareas.

Subareas

31 results found.

Sort order
Filter By
Results
Amin Arbabian

Amin Arbabian Assistant Professor

Allen 204 (4070)
Website

Hamel, Marie Administrator

Packard 217 (4070)
497-6217
mhamel@stanford.edu

Dan Boneh

Dan Boneh Professor

Gates 475 (9045)
Website

Harris, Ruth Administrator

Gates 495 (9045)
723-1658
rharris3@stanford.edu

Stephen P. Boyd

Stephen P. Boyd Professor

Pkd 254 (9510)
Website

Chaffee, Douglas Administrator

Packard 259 (9510)
721-2892
dchaffee@stanford.edu

Bill Dally

Bill Dally Professor (Research)

Gates 301 (9045)
Website

George, Sue Administrator

Gates 303 (9045)
725-2340
sue.george@stanford.edu

John Duchi

John Duchi Assistant Professor

Sequoia 126 (4065)
Website

Hamel, Marie Administrator

Packard 217 (4065)
497-6217
mhamel@stanford.edu

Robert Dutton

Robert Dutton Professor

Allen 333X (4075)
Website

Barrera, Fely Administrator

Allen 332X (4075)
723-1349
fely@ee.stanford.edu

Abbas El Gamal

Abbas El Gamal Professor

Pkd 262 (9510)
Website

Dillon, Marsha Administrator

Packard 174 (9510)
(650) 723-6471
marshad@ee.stanford.edu

Shanhui Fan

Shanhui Fan Professor

Spilker 314 (4088)
Website

Ungson, Socorro Administrator

Spilker 213 (4088)
723-0203
sungson@stanford.edu

Andrea Goldsmith

Andrea Goldsmith Professor

Pkd 371 (9515)
Website

Oshiro, Pat Administrator

Packard 365 (9515)
723-2681
poshiro@stanford.edu

James S. Harris

James S. Harris Professor

Allen 328X (4075)
Website

Phan, Vi Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
vphan15@stanford.edu

Pages