Physical Technology & Science

Physical Technology & Science

Complex systems are everywhere, and there will be a continuing need to design and build such systems in an energy-efficient way that can be scaled up in application space and scaled down in device size. Research in this area does both. We look to define the device technology and circuit framework of future electronic and photonic systems, which integrates the abstraction levels of quantum processes, materials, nanostructures, devices, integrated circuits, power electronics and electronic system engineering. We also investigate physics, materials, devices, and systems using light and electromagnetism generally, for applications including sensing, imaging, communications, energy, biology, medicine, security, and information processing.  

Subareas

Amin Arbabian

Amin Arbabian Assistant Professor

Allen 204 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Bill Dally

Bill Dally Professor (Research)

Gates 301 (9045)
Website

George, Sue Administrator

Gates 303 (9045)
725-2340
sue.george@stanford.edu

Adam de la Zerda

Adam de la Zerda Assistant Professor Structural Biology
EE by Courtesy

Robert Dutton

Robert Dutton Professor

Allen 333X (4075)
Website

Barrera, Fely Administrator

Allen 332X (4075)
723-1349
fely@ee.stanford.edu

Audrey Ellerbee

Audrey Ellerbee Assistant Professor

Spilker 207 (4088)
Website

Ayres, Susan Administrator

Spker 306 (4088)
725-9199
sjayres@stanford.edu

Jonathan Fan

Jonathan Fan Assistant Professor

Spilker 307 (4088)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spker 306 (4088)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Shanhui Fan

Shanhui Fan Professor

Spilker 314 (4088)
Website

Ungson, Socorro Administrator

Spker 213 (4088)
723-0203
sungson@stanford.edu

Antony Fraser-Smith

Antony Fraser-Smith Emeritus

Pkd 358 (9515)

Oshiro, Pat Administrator

Pkd 365 (9515)
723-2681
poshiro@stanford.edu

Surya Ganguli

Surya Ganguli Assistant Professor Applied Physics
EE by Courtesy

James F. Gibbons

James F. Gibbons Professor (Research)

Allen 201X (4075)
Website

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Andrea Goldsmith

Andrea Goldsmith Professor

Pkd 371 (9515)
Website

Oshiro, Pat Administrator

Pkd 365 (9515)
723-2681
poshiro@stanford.edu

Joseph Goodman

Joseph Goodman Emeritus

Clark, Katt Administrator

Pkd 217 ()
721-1060
katt@ee.stanford.edu

James S. Harris

James S. Harris Professor

Allen 328X (4075)
Website

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Stephen E. Harris

Stephen E. Harris Emeritus

Spilker 204 (4088)

Lambertus Hesselink

Sasaki, Reiko Administrator

Spilker 206 (4070)
725-8331
rsasaki@stanford.edu

Mark A. Horowitz

Mark A. Horowitz Professor

Gates 306 (9030)
Website

Swenson, Mary Jane Administrator

Gates 279 (9030)
723-0748
mswenson@cs.stanford.edu

Roger T. Howe

Roger T. Howe Professor

Allen 114 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Umran S. Inan

Umran S. Inan Emeritus

Pkd 355 (9515)

Niu, Helen Administrator

Packard 310 (9515)
723-8121
helen.niu@stanford.edu

Joseph M. Kahn

Joseph M. Kahn Professor

Spilker 216 (9515)
Website

Claudette Earl Administrator

Spilker 213 (9515)
3-0027
cearl@stanford.edu

Leonid G. Kazovsky

Leonid G. Kazovsky Professor (Research)

Pkd 362 (9510)
Website

Oshiro, Pat Administrator

Pkd 365 (9510)
723-2681
poshiro@stanford.edu

Butrus Khuri-Yakub

Butrus Khuri-Yakub Professor (Research)

Spilker 217 (4088)
Website

Ungson, Socorro Administrator

Spker 213 (4088)
723-0203
sungson@stanford.edu

Gregory Kovacs

Gregory Kovacs Professor

Allen 202X (4075)
Website

Nicholas, Claire Administrator

Allen 203X (4075)
723-0720
claireni@stanford.edu

Thomas Lee

Thomas Lee Professor

Allen 205 (4070)
Website

Wang, June Administrator

Allen 203 (4070)
724-1342
junewang@ee.stanford.edu

Michael McConnell

Michael McConnell Professor Cardiovascular Medicine
EE by Courtesy

David A. B. Miller

David A. B. Miller Professor

Spilker 203 (4085)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spker 306 (4085)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Subhasish Mitra

Subhasish Mitra Associate Professor

Gates 336 (9030)
Website

Davis, Beverly Administrator

Clark Center W352 (9030)
723-1458
beverlyd@stanford.edu

Boris Murmann

Boris Murmann Associate Professor

Allen 208 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Yoshio Nishi

Yoshio Nishi Professor (Research)

Allen 103 (9515)
Website

Hamel, Marie Administrator

Packard 217 (9515)
497-6217
mhamel@stanford.edu

R. Fabian Pease

R. Fabian Pease Emeritus

Allen 314X (4075)

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Piero A. Pianetta

Piero A. Pianetta Professor (Research)

McC 334 (MS69)
Website

Burns-Wood, Laura Administrator

SLAC (MS69)
926-2922
lbw@slac.stanford.edu

James D. Plummer

James D. Plummer Professor

Huang 226 (4027)
Website

Schulze, Dustyne Administrator

Huang 227 (4027)
723-3938
dustynes@stanford.edu

Ada Poon

Ada Poon Assistant Professor

Pkd 237 (4070)
Website

Wang, June Administrator

Allen 203 (4070)
724-1342
junewang@ee.stanford.edu

Eric Pop

Eric Pop Associate Professor

Allen 335X (4075)
Website

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Juan Rivas

Juan Rivas Assistant Professor

Allen 210 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Krishna Saraswat

Krishna Saraswat Professor

Allen 326X (4075)
Website

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Debbie Senesky

Debbie Senesky Assistant Professor Aeronautics and Astronautics
EE by Courtesy

Krishna Shenoy

Krishna Shenoy Professor

Clark Center W100-A (5436)
Website

Davis, Beverly Administrator

Clark Center W352 (5436)
723-1458
beverlyd@stanford.edu

Olav Solgaard

Olav Solgaard Professor

Spilker 315 (4088)
Website

Peterman, Yurika Administrator

Spker 206 (4088)
723-9723
yurika.peterman@stanford.edu

Jelena Vuckovic

Jelena Vuckovic Professor

Spilker 209 (4088)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spker 306 (4088)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Shan X. Wang

Shan X. Wang Professor

McC 351 (4045)
Website

Pacheco, Nuvia Administrator

McC 333 (4045)
723-0197
npacheco@stanford.edu

H.-S. Philip Wong

H.-S. Philip Wong Professor

Allen 312X (4075)
Website

Barrera, Fely Administrator

Allen 332X (4075)
723-1349
fely@ee.stanford.edu

Simon S. Wong

Simon S. Wong Professor

Allen 203 (4070)
Website

Wang, June Administrator

Allen 203 (4070)
724-1342
junewang@ee.stanford.edu

Bruce A. Wooley

Bruce A. Wooley Emeritus

Allen 206 (4070)

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Yoshihisa Yamamoto

Yoshihisa Yamamoto Emeritus

Spilker 303 (4088)

Peterman, Yurika Administrator

Spker 206 (4088)
723-9723
yurika.peterman@stanford.edu

Howard Zebker

Howard Zebker Professor

Pkd 334 (9515)
Website

Niu, Helen Administrator

Packard 310 (9515)
723-8121
helen.niu@stanford.edu